Ted Demopoulos’ “What no one ever tells you about blogging and podcasting”: Some comments

I’ve been reading the book by Ted Demopoulos entitled “What no one ever tells you about blogging and podcasting”:

The book is a compilation of blogging and podcasting tips that  he’s compiled based on his interviews with successful bloggers and podcasters. Ted Demopoulos is particularly interested in seeing how blogs and podcasts add to the marketing/businesss mix of companies.

I have picked up some interesting tips such as using stats counters like Blog stats and Sitemeter (which I have since added) to help provide more info on the blog’s readership, as well some useful reminders about the need to include links and blogroll.

He also mentions an important point about the need to ‘listen’ to what’s out there in the blogosphere as well. All too often, bloggers are caught up with blogging and tend to forget to read others’ blogs. You can only join in the conversation in the blogosphere by reading, leaving comments or emailing the bloggers, and inviting them to read your blog and leave comments too. Thus, disabling a ‘comments’ feature is a big no-no, according to the author and the people he interviewed.

You can also read more about Ted Demopoulos’ thoughts and musings on technology, business and their intersection in his blog, The Ted Rap.

In the book, the writer also shares some useful blogs to read, and I’ll share some of the useful links here with you:

 Marcom Blog

InfOpinions

Buzzoodle

BlogWrite for CEOs

Practical Blogging

Copyblogger

Bloglogic – news from the blogosphere

SEObook

Podcast Roundtable

Talkr – Letting blogs speak for themselves

It’ll be worth your while to check out the above links!

About blogscapes
An intrepid explorer into the the brave new dimensions of the blogosphere and new media landscape.

8 Responses to Ted Demopoulos’ “What no one ever tells you about blogging and podcasting”: Some comments

  1. Thanks for the great review of my book!

  2. blogscapes says:

    Hi Ted,

    Thanks for stopping by. Was just recommending your book to some of my colleagues.
    You are most welcome to give any feedback you may have on my blog!

    cheers

  3. Thanks for the mention. That was a great project Ted did.

    Your blog looks great. You might want to use your real name someplace so we feel like we get to know you.

  4. blogscapes says:

    Hi Ron,

    Thanks for the encouraging comment! And for the suggestion too. Lately, I’ve been thinking of putting more info about myself – prob in the ‘About’ page, as having blogged for more than a year (frankly, when I first started, I could not imagine myself sustaining the blog, but it’s still here!), I guess I’ve gained more confidence in the blog, thanks to comments like yours!

    Also, after having read Ted’s book and other bloggers’ sharings about the need to establish a real presence, I guess I just might just do that! Thanks!

  5. Mark Laudi says:

    Hi S. Low, thanks for attending my workshop last week!

    Interesting blog! Thanks for passing me the URL. Looking at the points you’ve already implemented it looks like you didn’t really need to attend afterall.

    I hope you found the workshop inspirational and useful anyway.

    Keep in touch!

    Cheers
    Mark

  6. blogscapes says:

    Hi Mark,

    I enjoyed the new media workshops last week. I found the activities useful – I mean, even though I’ve been blogging for a while, there’s always something to be learnt, with new media constantly evolving.

    Thanks for dropping by Blogscapes. Do drop by any time and your comments and feedback would be most welcome too.

    Keep in touch! Cheers!

  7. Pingback: In Blogging For Business, Keep Current To Keep Relevant - Rhoda Israelov of Say It For You

  8. Pingback: Easier To Get Unstuck With Blogs- Rhoda Israelov of Say It For You

Leave a comment