Facebook updating and anti-Facebook advocates

I just came across a new development in Facebook. It’s going the way of Twitter and allowing more Twitter-esque updates as it realises that many of its users prefer to do quick updates while on the move. This new feature will be out 11 March, so why don’t you guys try it out too and let us know what you think about it.

Strangely, just as Facebook is getting more popular with more Facebook fans across the globe, there’s an increasing number of anti-Facebook fanatics who have even gone so far as to sustain an anti-Facebook site known as Hatebook. Yes,  I know – not very original.

 It’s ironic that it touts itself as an anti-social networking site, for all anti-social networking people to network : Hatebook is an anti-social utility that disconnects you from the things YOU HATE. Everybody loves to HATE.

And what’s the purpose of the site, well it’s for users to Upload somebody’s lies or publish secrets  get the latest gossip from your enemies and friends  reveal photos and videos on your hate profile  tag your enemies  join ahate-clan to get rid off all annoying things around you  take over the world.

 And what’s priceless about it? We are told: The enemies of your enemies are your friends – find them here

Cute.

No, I have not signed up for a Hatebook account and I certainly hope I don’t have need to do so.

About blogscapes
An intrepid explorer into the the brave new dimensions of the blogosphere and new media landscape.

12 Responses to Facebook updating and anti-Facebook advocates

  1. gazduire says:

    wondering why have to register to do something on that site? ;))

  2. blogscapes says:

    Hi, thanks for your comment. Well, I guess, just like any other site, they still want some sense of community, as much as that seems to go against the grain of the site!

  3. Bronnie says:

    hahaha I love it!!

    I’m a huge twitter & facebook fanatic. oh the shame. hehe

  4. 2ton says:

    I must say, I do NOT care for the new facebook format. Most everyone I am connected with does not like it, either. There is already a Twitter, so it is senseless to try to make fb more twitterish. The whole point to fb was to connect, not to tweet. It annoyes me that so many sites copy each other instead of trying to keep their individuality. BTW, I am on Twitter, but I find I have nothing worthy to say.

  5. blogscapes says:

    Hi 2ton, so you are not a fan of the new fb, ya! I know what you mean, they should not be copying each other, but I guess nowadays, all the sites are trying to provide some many features and services and trying to integrate everything that it gets confusing at times. But i’m sure there are many out there who do want to tweet while they facebook!

  6. 2ton says:

    Twitter has a facebook application widget, as well as banners…it has them for quite a few blog and social network sites. Now ‘that’ is what I consider integrating services! I still cannot comprehend why businesses (of all kinds) copy each other instead of carving out and keeping their own uniqueness. I think pro-active is better than re-active, in the long run.

  7. blogscapes says:

    Hi 2ton, you sound annoyed! You’re right, pro-active is better than re-active. FB is known for being quite innovative (perhaps except in this instance) so let’s see what they come up with!

    Twitter is so in the news these days. By that, I mean there’s a lot being written about it. Just read this post on how Twitter makes you a better writer!!
    http://www.copyblogger.com/twitter-writing/

  8. 2ton says:

    Haha, yes I am annoyed about the new format on fb, as I am about the newest format on AOL message boards, both of which make it less pleasurable to use. IMO, these sites do not make changes for the convenience of users, but for themselves, either to make coding and upkeep easier or for advertising purposes…cannot totally blame them, either . Whenever I question what is done, I just think “follow the money”, lol.
    The article you linked to is quite true. Only one point has been left out, and that is…Twitter, as well as any SMS type service, also encourages odd spelling and abbreviations, such as LOL. So now the world must contend with the “new spelling”!
    p.s. unfortunately, I am not in NYC, and therefore cannot go to see MiG perform. But I, and a group of fans, did go on March 5, and had the BEST time!!!

  9. Steven Rossi says:

    Looks like Hatebook’s down at the moment…

  10. blogscapes says:

    Hi 2ton, Yes, it does seem to be all about the money!! As for the article on Twitter, well, in a way, brevity could be seen to be the soul of wit, but then again, I can’t help but feel that being too concise (as demanded by Twitter) kind of loses out some of the nuances that make language interesting. Not to mention, all the bad spelling! But then again, you do get interesting coinages like LOL! LOL.

  11. blogscapes says:

    Hi Steven, Yup Hatebook seems to be down…looks like someone hated it that much…but unfortunately, when you click on hatebook.com, you do see some ‘i hate’ messages!

Leave a Reply

