Is Facebooking a disease?

We have discussed on several occasions previously, the irony of how increased social networking could lead to less face-to-face communication and thus could in fact make a person less sociable!

A recent news report on Social Networking = disease? has highlighted that excessive social networking and reduced face-to-face contact could have more than a social impact.

It could actually hurt your health and cause health risks like dementia or stroke! As people spend long hours online, they have less time for exercise and other physical activities. Not only that, the social isolation that results from reduced contact with others could impair genes that help to fight diseases.

Now, it seems that social networking can also hurt the health of your computers. It seems that facebook is linked to social networking diseases and also causing your PC to be a target of more computer viruses.

So, next time you are on social networking sites such as Facebook, remember to spend time on them in moderation, lest you want to become less sociable, less healthy, and more alienated, and I believe these are the things that you never expected or wanted when you logged on to a social networking site!

About blogscapes
An intrepid explorer into the the brave new dimensions of the blogosphere and new media landscape.

8 Responses to Is Facebooking a disease?

  1. europeanchopra says:

    I think this is a great point well made. For a deeper under standing of this society and the ‘technetronic’ habits we have you could read a book called Between Two Ages : America’s Role in the Technetronic Era by Zbigniew Brzezinski.

    Anyhow, you can too find me on facebook 😉

  2. blogscapes says:

    HI, thanks for your comment and the recommendation!

  3. Brayden says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    5 Facts You MUST Understand if You Are Ever Going to Lose Your Belly Fat and Get Six Pack Abs

  4. Toni says:

    Interesting ideas! I use facebook myself, but never thought of it as any more addictive than other sites I am on. They pretty much all cause you to sit in front of a screen for way too long! But then, at least I have actually hooked up with some old pals on some of these sites, so there is some good to them! I have never actually NOT met up with anyone in person and replaced the connecting with a facebook meeting. I do both, using the fb pages to initialize the connections. The virus problem does worry me, but I just hope that my anti-virus keeps on working! So I don’t really think any one site is more of a problem than others, they are all creating a techno-geek, chair-potato, fingers flying, screen-staring generation…who also have their ears stuffed with ipods and bluetooth sets even as they jog! I guess I would like to believe that most people add the new media connections to the face-to-face personal connections, rather than replace one with the other.

    • blogscapes says:

      Hi Toni,

      Always nice to hear from you and good of you to drop by. I think it’s great that you are mindful of the need for balance – to have an ‘off-line’ life besides an online one. Unfortunately, many people don’t anymore, opting for the comfort of the PC and chair than getting out and making face to face connections!

  5. Toni says:

    Interesting notes…
    I just came from NYC where a bunch of MiG fans met for a MiG gig…we all met online!
    My daughter just joined facebook to connect with old friends in gymnastics. Now they are thinking of planning a reunion. Also, she talks to her daughter on facebook, and they are in different rooms in the same house, lol!
    I guess, as you say, it’s all about balance, as is most in life! I have to say, I do love the internet. For me, it has opened up the whole world to me! I also must admit, I spend way to much time online, to the detriment of housework, yardwork, and such.

  6. blogscapes says:

    Yes, now meetings and conferences can be held online! So convenient! You say your daughter facebooks her daughter in the same house! Well, I guess facebook does serve as another form of communication, but I hope they also meet and talk face-to-face.

    But you are right in saying that it’s all about balance. Ha, so it’s time to get offline and start on your chores, Toni – hee.

Leave a Reply

