Who let the blogs out?

I received some offline feedback from friends that they didn’t recognise my blog as my identity was no where to be found! I’ve been going by the moniker Blogscape Artist and it struck me that readers wish to know the person behind the blog.  So who let the blogs out? Who are the authors of the blogs? I guess while it’s possible to conjure an impression of the blogger, people still feel more comfortable getting some info of the author from the blogger himself.

Thus, if you click About, you’ll find that I’ve added a little bit more info of myself. (Perhaps still not as much as you would expect, but I believe that’ll do for now?)

I’ve also been looking at what other bloggers have been saying about themselves and really, there’s no hard and fast rulesabout what you say and how much you say. Some provide a photo, while others provide an image icon, while some offer no visuals at all.

Some, like one of Singapore’s famed bloggers, Xia Xue provide personal particulars: 

Wendy Cheng

 

Then others have something that reads like  CV. A good example is author of one of WordPress.com’s most popular blog: (I’m showing a tiny part of it here).

  

Robert Scoble  

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Robert Scoble (born January 18, 1965) is an American blogger, technical evangelist, and author. Scoble is best known for his popular blog, Scobleizer, which came to prominence during his tenure as a technical evangelist at Microsoft. He is married to Maryam Ghaemmaghami, and has a son, Patrick, from a previous marriage. He and his wife currently work at PodTech.net[1], a video-podcast startup. He is also author of Naked Conversations: How Blogs are Changing the Way Businesses Talk with Customers.

It’s interesting how many bloggers describe themselves in the third person. Some are even very self-conscious about it such as the

Technopreneur

Who’s Blogging This?

This is one of those rare opportunities I get to write about myself in the third person, and it’s also my own futile attempt at convincing you I’m no narcissist. I promise to keep it short.

ABOUT KEVIN

Kevin Mansour Singarayar is a self-proclaimed, independent Internet Technologist who writes for Technopreneur and ChalkTalk. He coaches and collaborates with entrepreneurs on current, new and emerging internet technologies.

 

So it really depends on how much and how little you wish to reveal. For some, the identity may not be as important as the content of the postings. The content is often more revealing. After all, don’t all authors reveal something of themselves in their writing?

About blogscapes
An intrepid explorer into the the brave new dimensions of the blogosphere and new media landscape.

3 Responses to Who let the blogs out?

  1. Cindy says:

    Oh yes, I did bring this point up to you, but you said you had your reasons for being anonymous. Let’s hope more will be revealed in time to come. 🙂

  2. jtfreelance says:

    It’s good to have an identity, but some people do wish to remain anonymous. I was one of those up until recently, but now I realized: If I want to be recognized, both in the offline and online world, I need my name out there.

    BTW, thanks for checking my site out, and you’ve got some good info yourself.

  3. blogscapes says:

    Yes, I know what you mean. Despite the Internet being faceless, people still want to have an identity and want to identify with someone as well. I guess that’s part of being human.

    In line with what you are saying about getting your identity out there, what about including an image instead of ?? for your symbol?

Leave a Reply

